Home / Local NMB News / Members of the Yaupon Garden Club attend a luncheon at the C. B. Berry Center

Members of the Yaupon Garden Club attend a luncheon at the C. B. Berry Center

By Mary Templeton

The Yaupon Garden Club recently culminated their year during a luncheon at the C.B. Berry Center in Little River and a celebration with the Ecotots at Ocean Drive Elementary School in North Myrtle Beach. Several YGC members were honored for their contributions during 2018-19:  Jeanette Lyon was awarded the Ruby Reeves Bell Award for Outstanding Work, Phyllis Green received the Dallas Wallace Berry Horticulture Award, and Mary Templeton was awarded the Ann Keith Edens Community Service Award.  Graceann Phillips and Kathleen Kepenis were honored with Life Memberships in the Garden Clubs of South Carolina.

The 2019-20 officers are: President, Graceann Phillips; 2nd Vice President, Deb Madey; Recording Secretary, Jeanette Lyon; Corresponding Secretary, Donna Belski; Treasurer, Margaret Graham; Historian, Phillis Newman; Parliamentarian, Lou Haywood; Chaplain, Ann Hughes; Advisor, Dorothy Bambach.

The Ecotots enjoyed their last meeting with the ladies from the YGC.  After making a gift for their mother, they toured their Ecotot Garden to see the newly installed tree signs that will enable them to identify each tree that has been planted. Upon returning to the classroom, they reviewed all the topics discussed during the year that were depicted on the certification awarded to them.  To celebrate this special day, each child enjoyed cake provided by the Yaupon Garden Club.

Phyllis Green is presented with the Dallas Wallace Berry Horticulture Award by Jeannette Lyon.
YGC Officers for 2019-20 are left to right, Graceann Phillips, Deb Madey, Jeanette Lyon, Donna Belski, Phillis Newman, Lou Haywood, Dorothy Bambach and Ann Hughes.
The ODES kindergarten students share with their teacher, Kim Holloway, and Mary Templeton what they learned during the year as Ecotots.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *