Home / Local NMB News / VFW Post 10804 is named best in state

VFW Post 10804 is named best in state

North Myrtle Beach’s Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 10804 walked away from the recently completed VFW Department (state) Convention in Columbia with a very prestegious award. The official title is the James W. Cothran award. This award also makes Post 10804 an “All State Post”.

VFW Post 10804 was recognized for its ground-breaking initiative to partially power the post building with solar power by way of a collaboration with a company in California that supports military affiliated non-profits, our own Coastal Carolina University’s Solar Ambassadors fundraisers and a solar installation company based in North Carolina.

VFW Post 10804 worked with a local Boy Scout Troop to help a scout member earn Eagle Scout status by that scout’s coordination with the post to plan, design, fund raise and build a Flag Retirement Ceremonial Pit at the post. The boy scout earned his Eagle Scout status.

Not to be out-done, a local Girl Scout Troop wanted Post 10804 to help them sell their cookies so they coud send them to the men and women of the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps stationed on the USS New York.  The post set up various fundraising events for the Girl Scouts. This project went so well that the Girl Scout Troop received national publicity, recognition and awards.

The post was credited with completing all the department requirements for the award. Some of these were the Voice of Democracy and Patriots Pen student writing contests and Post 10804’s legendary “Best of the Best” awards program that recognizes top performers in teaching, emergency medical services, fire department and police personnel. Also for its outstanding Poppy drives twice a year that raised money for area veterans in need and their families. The post also spearheaded a district-wide fund and food rasiser for the men and women of Coast Guard Station Georgetown during the time they were not getting paid because of the government shutdown.

Post 10804, along with Little River American Legion Post 186, organizes Memorial Day and Veterans Day rememberance services with the help of many community military, fraternal and civil organizations.

VFW post leadership also coordinated with various military, military affiliated civic and fraternal organizations, along with local retirement facilities housing numerous World War II and Korea veterans, to have the largest veteran affiliated group to ever participate in the local St. Patrick’s Day Parade.

For these and many, many more commitments to area veterans, their families and local civic and fraternal organizations, Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 10804  earned the distinction of being named best VFW post in South Carolina.

At the state convention, Post 10804 and Auxiliary members received state recognition and awards.

The Post:

Post 10804 was recognized for attaining 100 percent membership;

Post Commander Nick Camera for Community Activities Chairman;

Post member Margo Sheridan received a “Thank you for your service” plaque for her work as  Safety Chairwoman;

Post member Bill La Monte received a “Thank you for your service” plaque for his work as  State Publications Chairman;

Post 10804 member Allen Rundall for work as Veterans and Military Support Chairperson;

Additionally, Nick Camera and Paul Slater were recognized for recruiting eight new members each for 2018-2019.

The Auxiliary:

Hospital Volunteer Service – Catherine Steel – 2nd place;

Scholarships – Lena Risser – 3rd place;

Youth Activities – Ramona Seals – 1st place;

Americanism – Rosemary Fedortion – 1st place;

Legislative Activities – Gary Hurt – 1st place;

Buddy Poppy Program and support of National Home for Children– Deborah Hartleroad – 1st place in each; and Historian – Jacqui Williams – 1st place.

If you are eligible to be a VFW member, but are not, come see us to join and let us welcome you to the VFW, where “no one” does more for veterans.

VFW Post 10804 Commander Nick Camera Holding the James

 W. Cothran Award. Presenting the award are VFW National Sr., Vice Commander in Chief William J. Schmitz (left) and Department Of South Carolina Commander Robert W. Holsclaw.

Standing in front of Post 10804 are state award winners Bill La Monte, Ramona Seals, Alissa Rorer, Lena Risser, Nick Camera (holding the Best Post in S.C. Award), Jacqui Williams, Debby Hartleroad and Allen Rundall. Not pictured are Margo Sheridan, Rosemary Fedortion, Catherine Steel and Gary Hurt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *